Punjab Assembly Election 2022: Captain Amarinder’s party gets election symbol, ‘PLC’ will contest on ‘hockey stick-ball’ symbol -ball’ symbol

Chandigarh: Like Goa, Manipur, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh, the election battle has started in Punjab too. Meanwhile, former Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh’s ‘Punjab Lok Congress’ (PLC) party has got ‘hockey stick and ball’ symbol as an election symbol.

Let us inform that after a rift with Navjot Singh Sidhu, Captain resigned from the post of Chief Minister of Punjab a few months ago and then left the Congress party. In this election, the Captain will join hands with the BJP.

It is noteworthy that this time elections in Punjab will be held in only one phase. Voting will be held in Punjab on February 14. While the counting of votes will take place on March 10.

According to the announcement made by the Election Commission, the process of nomination for Punjab elections will start from January 21, 2022. Which will end on January 28. by 31 January Candidate You can withdraw your name. Counting of votes in electoral states including Punjab will be held simultaneously on March 10

The Election Commission has made important changes this time in the enrollment process due to the corona infection. Under which the candidates will also be able to enroll through the Commission’s Suvidha App.

With the announcement of the schedule of assembly elections in five states by the Election Commission, the code of conduct has come into force in the electoral states. Under this, all the elected representatives including the Punjab government will no longer be able to inaugurate any construction including any new announcement. At the same time, the expenditure made by the candidates will also be added to the election expenditure.

Let us tell you that the term of the Punjab Legislative Assembly is ending on 27 March 2022. The last assembly elections were held in February 2017. Whereas the election results were declared on 11 March 2017 in which the Congress won an absolute majority. In the 2017 assembly elections in 117-seat Punjab, the Congress returned to power after ten years, winning 77 seats, while the Akali Dal-BJP alliance was reduced to just 18 seats. Aam Aadmi Party became the main opposition party by winning 20 seats.

Captain Amarinder Singh was appointed chief minister but in September last year, Congress replaced Captain Amarinder with Charanjit Singh Channi as chief minister. To form the government in Punjab, any party or coalition has to get the figure of 59 seats.

2017 assembly election

Punjab – 117 seats



Akali Dal-15

Aam Aadmi Party-20


first published:Jan. 10, 2022, 8:46 p.m.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.