Manipur Election 2022: MLAs reached Congress and other parties when BJP did not give ticket – Manipur Election 2022 MLAs reached Congress and other parties when BJP did not give ticket

New Delhi. The leaders who were not given tickets by the BJP in the upcoming assembly elections in Manipur are leaving the party. The leaders who are not ticketed are going to Congress or any other party, where they are expected to get tickets. A day after the party’s candidate list was announced, BJP MLA from Moirang assembly constituency P Sarat Chandra Singh along with his supporters joined the Congress. Ningthoujam Biren and Ningthoujam Joykumar Singh, former ministers of Sekmai assembly constituency, also joined the Congress.

Congress sources He claims that 12 other BJP leaders are in touch with him at present. Protests erupted in Manipur on the previous day after the BJP announced candidates for 60 assembly seats in the state. Supporters of those who did not get tickets burnt party flags, even the effigies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister N Biren Singh. Security had to be beefed up after party offices were vandalized in different parts of the state. Let us inform that BJP has given tickets to the leaders who joined after 2017. Ten out of 16 in this list are from Congress, while 4 are from other parties.

Manipur Congress vice-president and spokesperson KH Devvrat told NDTV that leaders coming from BJP are welcome. We have already declared the list of 40 candidates and others will come out in two or three days, he said. But now, many BJP leaders who were denied tickets are approaching us and promising allegiance to Congress. We are ready to welcome them.

Sources said that BJP MLAs are also likely to join Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party. Party sources said the list includes two sitting MLAs – Y Irabot Singh, veteran leader from Wangkhei assembly constituency, and Rameshwar, MLA from Kaking constituency, both of whom have been denied tickets. NPP sources said former ministers L Mangi, former BJP MLAs Shobhachandra Singh, N Loken and Anwar Hussain will join them and they will be added to the list of candidates.

first published:Feb. 1, 2022, 11:03 a.m.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.